The Open: 15.4 and the power of pacing

20150326_204304The 2015 CrossFit Open are nearly at an end. In only a few hours we’ll find out about the last open WOD, perform it, maybe even twice or more, and then see who goes to Regionals and eventually the Games. For me though the opens will be over after 15.5 – and I’ll go back to „normal“ training routine. To be honest, I’m kind of looking forward to that for I miss sleeping in on Saturdays and doing non Open trainings/WODs only once a week.

Looking back at 15.1 to 15.4 it looks like I did well in 15.2 and 15.4, and not so well in the odd WODs. This would mean I should prepare myself mentally more for the finale, calm myself and not expect too much.

15.4 has taught me to stay calm from the beginning – take smaller steps – and boy did I surprise myself. I wasn’t expecting more then 60 reps and in the end finished with 81. Where did all these super powers come from? I’ve known this feeling from a few runs – it’s weird that towards the end of a race – yes even a marathon – once you sense the finish line – your inner super hero comes out – when running it’s my inner Usain Bolt – when CrossFitting it’s my inner beast mode. I don’t care if I don’t look pretty push pressing the 30kg bar or cleaning the 35kg bar and bruising my shins. Sweat? Yes, I sweat a lot – it’s pouring down my face. Not pretty. Pain? Yes, my hands are in pain from holding the bar. Pulse? Yep – it’s beating hard and let’s me know how much harder I can go. But it’s CrossFit not a beauty pageant – I can go pretty hard it seems.

15.4 was for the scaled division:

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 8 minutes of:
10 push presses
10 cleans

Men push press 95 lb. and clean 115 lb.
Women push press 65 lb (about 30kg) and clean 75 lb (about 35kg)

And I wonder if I’ll ever be able to do RX, check it out on games.crossfit.com

30kg and 35kg respectively for both movements are relatively heavy weights for me. My secret to a more than satisfying result was: I did exactly what professionals preach: pacing! Take smaller steps – don’t go unbroken – don’t go all out in the first rounds. Stay focussed. My coach also said: depending on how comfortable you feel with the weights – I felt very uncomfortable and actually scared – go with a maximum of 5 reps. I actually did the cleans in singles and now I know how efficient this can be!

Thanks to my judge Svenja for counting and believing…
…and the he hearty scorecard!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

