The Open: 15.2 was 14.2 was fun…

…yes, really it was fun!

It was fun for a  lot of things. One being the excitement mixed with hilarity and tension once my CrossFit friends and I found out about 15.2 – the second WOD of this year’s Open. It turned out to be 14.2, so a repetition from last year’s Open and thus the perfect way for everyone who did the Open last year to see how far they have come. It was:

For as long as possible:

  • From 0:00-3:00 = 2 rounds of: 10 overhead squats (95 / 65 lb.) & 10 chest-to-bar pull-ups
  • From 3:00-6:00 = 2 rounds of: 12 overhead squats (95 / 65 lb.) & 12 chest-to-bar pull-ups
  • From 6:00-9:00 = 2 rounds of: 14 overhead squats (95 / 65 lb.) & 14 chest-to-bar pull-ups
  • Etc., following same pattern

The scaled variation started the rounds with 6 OHS with 45 lb. (20kg) for women and chin-over-bar-pull-ups.

15.2 was also fun for the fact that I totally surprised myself. And I hope to remember myself more often that I don’t have anything to lose. For what it’s worth: All in, right?

Dealing with the WOD announcement
Each Open WOD is announced at 5pm PT on Thursdays – so very early Friday morning European time. Although I don’t stay up all night or set my alarm clock to watch the live announcement I usually check my newsfeed briefly once I wake up. Since I went to the 7am morning class last Friday (and actually also the one before) I got an early chance to chat about the WOD with my coach and some other fellow box members. The chat went on later that day in our Facebook group and in countless funny messages – and probably continued until the Open Party on Saturday which unfortunately I couldn’t attend due to a work seminar. So I had to wait until Monday to do 15.2. Waiting – the least fun part of the workout when you see all the pictures taken from the party…

I think that the majority of athletes – myself included – who signed up for the scaled variation secretly hoped that pull ups could be scaled in some way allowing extra equipment and not just scaled from chest to bar to chin over bar. But as straps or other scaling ways were not allowed we all basically accepted the fact that we’d be done after 30 seconds. Quickest WOD ever…

Why warm up if all you do is 6 OHS, right?

Beastmode on for 15.2
While it’s been great fun waiting for the WOD announcement and then talking about strategies how to succeed in it, it’s also been great fun to eventually perform it. Really, no kidding!

Surprisingly I struggled more with the OHS than expected. I haven’t done much lifting lately so I didn’t feel as strong and solid in my squat as I had hoped. But I was still done quickly enough that I had enough time left to decide whether I should accept my score of 6 reps or at least try one of my very own and unique kipping frog pull ups. I call them „kipping frog pull ups“ because my kipping timing is so poor that I feel like I have to kick myself up in the air which kind of looks like a frog jump movement (at least that’s what I imagine it looks like). And for the record: strict pull ups only work for me with a range of straps.

By the time I attempted my first pull up, everyone else in my heat was already done, so all eyes were on me. A nasty situation…which after 2-3 warm-up kips turned out to be magical. I somehow frogged my chin over the bar six times in six single and slow and weird looking pull ups. I shook my head for I hadn’t expected this to happen, smirked from ear to ear, glanced at the clock just to find out I still had about 20 seconds left to finish up 6 more OHS before the three minute time cap. In the end I completed 15.2 with a score of 18 reps – three times higher than expected and a feeling of confidence and pride that was long missed. But no worries, I’ll make sure to leave my ego outside for the next WOD. Can’t wait to find out what 15.3 is…how I dislike waiting…

And for the record: according to The CrossFit Games Nathalie Newhart finished 15.2 (RX) with a total of 441 reps and beat last year’s record of 404 set by Camille Leblant-Bazinet. Long way for me to go😉

Schreibe einen Kommentar

